Our leaders believe Dartmouth’s impact on the world is extended through interdisciplinary expertise. Faculty teams collaborate at the leading edge of discovery and give students uncommon access to new ideas around the globe through coursework and research opportunities.

Download High-resolution Photos

Sian Leah Beilock, President

Sian Leah Beilock

(Photo by Katie Lenhart)

Sian Leah Beilock became Dartmouth’s 19th president on June 12, 2023. She is the first woman to serve as president of Dartmouth.

Beilock previously served as the eighth president of Barnard College at Columbia University, where she enhanced STEM research and teaching programs, expanded mental health and wellness accessibility, and significantly improved career resources. Before joining Barnard, she spent 12 years at the University of Chicago, where she was the executive vice provost and the Stella M. Rowley Professor of Psychology. Beilock is one of the world’s leading experts on the brain science behind “choking under pressure” in business, education, and sports. She earned her bachelor of science in cognitive science from the University of California, San Diego, and doctorate degrees in psychology and kinesiology from Michigan State University.

David Kotz ’86, Provost

David Kotz

(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)

David Kotz ’86, the Pat and John Rosenwald Professor in Computer Science, was appointed provost on Jan. 31, 2022. He had served as interim provost since July 2021. He earned his PhD from Duke University in 1991, and his research interests include security and privacy in smart homes, pervasive computing for health care, and wireless networks. As Dartmouth’s chief academic and fiscal officer, the provost reports to the president and is charged with elevating the academic profile of the institution. In consultation with the academic deans, the provost supports and advances teaching and scholarship as well as all student-related programs.

Office of the Provost


Scott C. Brown, Dean of the College

Scott Brown

(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)

Scott C. Brown is the senior officer responsible for undergraduate academic and co-curricular life. He oversees the Student Affairs division, which includes Student Academic Support Services; Residential Life and the house communities; health and wellness; student life; community life programs that provide cultural and spiritual support; and the Center for Professional Development. He has worked for nearly three decades in university student affairs at Northern Arizona University, The College of Wooster, Colgate University, Mount Holyoke College, and at Dartmouth earlier in his career. Brown serves on the president’s and provost’s leadership teams.

Dean of the College

Elizabeth F. Smith, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Elizabeth Smith

(Photo by Rob Strong)

Elizabeth F. Smith, the Paul M. Dauten Jr. Professor of Biological Sciences, has served as dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences since 2017. She leads Dartmouth’s largest academic unit, overseeing its educational policies, curriculum, and all matters relating to the effectiveness, development, and wellbeing of more than 600 faculty members. Smith also founded and co-directs the Dialogue Project, which provides training in collaborative dialogue skills for students, faculty, and staff. Smith was previously associate dean of the sciences and has also served as chair of the Department of Biological Sciences. An accomplished research scientist, she has published papers in leading journals and received grant support from institutions including the American Cancer Society, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and the March of Dimes Foundation.

Alexis R. Abramson, Dean of Thayer School of Engineering 

Alexis Abramson

(Photo by Katie Lenhart)

Alexis Abramson is the 13th dean of Thayer School. Prior to joining Dartmouth, she was the Milton and Tamar Maltz Professor of Energy Innovation at Case Western Reserve University and served as a director of the university’s Great Lakes Energy Institute focused on creating sustainable energy technology solutions. During the Obama administration, Abramson served as chief scientist and manager of the Emerging Technologies Division at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Building Technologies Program. In 2018, she served as technical adviser for Breakthrough Energy Ventures, a $1 billion effort launched by Bill Gates to combat human-driven climate change. As a leader in sustainable energy technology and advanced energy research, Abramson has authored more than 60 peer-reviewed publications.

Dean of Thayer School of Engineering

Duane A. Compton, Dean of the Geisel School of Medicine 

A portrait of Duane A. Compton, professor of biochemistry, who was named the interim dean of the Geisel School of Medicine.

(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)

Duane Compton is both dean of the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth and the senior associate dean for research and a professor of biochemistry. He received his PhD from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston in 1988, and completed his postdoctoral training in the field of cell biology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Compton joined the faculty in 1993, and is a leader in graduate and medical student education and a distinguished National Institutes of Health-funded researcher.

Dean of the Geisel School of Medicine

F. Jon Kull ’88, Dean of the Guarini School of Graduate & Advanced Studies

portrait of F. Jon Kull '88

(Photo by Rob Strong ’04)

F. Jon Kull, the Rodgers Professor of Chemistry, who uses biophysical techniques to study protein structure and function, was appointed dean of graduate studies in 2012. He oversaw the transition from a graduate program to the creation of the School of Graduate and Advanced Studies in 2016. Two years later, in 2018, the school received a naming gift from former New Jersey congressman and U.S. representative to the United Nations Frank J. Guarini ’46.

Dean of the Guarini School of Graduate & Advanced Studies

Matthew J. Slaughter, Dean of the Tuck School of Business 

Matthew Slaughter

(Photo by Kathleen Dooher)

Matthew J. Slaughter is the Paul Danos Dean of the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth, where he is also the Earl C. Daum 1924 Professor of International Business. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a life member of the Council on Foreign Relations, a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, a member of the academic advisory board of the International Tax Policy Forum, and an academic advisor to the McKinsey Global Institute.

Dean of the Tuck School of Business