Dartmouth Alumni in President Barack Obama’s Administration


Dartmouth alumni serve their country in roles ranging from U.S. Attorney in the District of Connecticut, to Deputy Secretary of Defense, to Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey.


From left: Neal Katyal ’91, Acting Solicitor General; Ben Wagner ’82, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of California; Karen Loeffler ’79, U.S. Attorney for the District of Alaska; David Fein ’82, U.S. Attorney for the District of Connecticut; Attorney General Eric Holder; Jerry Martin ’96, U.S. Attorney for the Middle District of Tennessee; Monty WIlkinson ’83, Counselor to the Attorney General; and Steve Dettelbach ’88, U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Ohio. (photo courtesy of David Fein)

This list was updated January 25, 2011. It was first published in July 2009 in the electronic newsletter Speaking of Dartmouth. If we missed someone, please let us know.

Ambassadors / Envoys in the Department of StateStephen W. Bosworth ’61; U.S. Special Representative for North Korea policyEileen Chamberlain Donahoe ’81; U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations Human Rights CouncilJames F. Moriarty ’75; U.S. Ambassador to BangladeshFrancis J. Ricciardone ’73; Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey, Department of State Mara E. Rudman ’84; Deputy Envoy/Chief of Staff to Special Envoy for Middle East Peace George MitchellTodd D. Stern ’73; Special Envoy for Climate ChangeEleni Tsakopoulos-Kounalakis ’89; U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Hungary

Census BureauRobert M. Groves ’70; Director

Department of Defense

R. Rand Beers ’64; Undersecretary for the National Protection and Programs Directorate, Department of Homeland Security Eric Fanning ’90; Deputy Undersecretary of the Navy and Deputy Chief Management OfficerWilliam J. Lynn ’76; Deputy Secretary of DefensePaul Stockton ’76; Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and America’s Security Affairs

Department of EnergyCathy Zoi, Thayer ’85; Acting Under Secretary for Energy and Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Department of Housing and Urban DevelopmentLisa Danzig, Tuck ’04; Special Assistant to the HUD Secretary

Department of the InteriorBetsy Hildebrandt ’86; Director of CommunicationsHilary Tompkins ’90; Solicitor Elizabeth Saagulik Hensley ’05; Advisor to Assistant Secretary of the Interior for Indian Affairs

Department of JusticeSteven E. Fagell ’95; Deputy Chief of Staff and Counselor to the Assistant Attorney General, Criminal DivisionNeal K. Katyal ’91; Acting Deputy Solicitor General Robert Montague Wilkinson ’83; Counselor to the Attorney General

Department of StateJose W. Fernandez ’77; Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of Economic, Energy and Business AffairsPamela Quanrud ’85; Deputy Assistant Secretary, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs

Department of the TreasuryDavid R. Dollar ’76; Economic and Financial Emissary to ChinaTimothy F. Geithner ’83; Secretary of the Treasury Michelle Greene ’91; Deputy Assistant Secretary for Financial Education and Financial Access David G. Loevinger ’84; Executive Secretary and Senior Coordinator for China Affairs

Export-Import BankRavi Arulanantham ’96; Senior Advisor to the Chairman

Federal Communications CommissionGeoffrey C. Blackwell ’91; Director of FCC Tribal Initiatives

Office of Public EngagementJodi Archambault Gillette ’91; Deputy Associate Director, Office of Intergovernmental Affairs

Office of the First LadyJoseph J. Boswell ’06; Executive Assistant

Office of Financial StabilityDesi Duncker, Tuck ’05; Investment Specialist David Miller ’98; Acting Chief Investment Officer Zachary Segal ’98, Tuck ’06; Investment Specialist

Office of National AIDS PolicyGregorio Millett ’90; Senior Policy Advisor, Office of National AIDS Policy

Office of Political AffairsAmanda K. Brown ’07; Assistant to the Director of Political Affairs

Recovery Act ImplementationCathy Green Solomon ’82; Advisor

U.S. Attorneys Steven Dettelbach ’88; Northern District of OhioDavid B. Fein ’82; District of Connecticut Karen Loeffler ’79; District of AlaskaJerry E. Martin ’96; Middle District of TennesseeBenjamin Wagner ’82; Eastern District of California

U.S. District Judge R. Brooke Jackson ’69; District of Colorado Abdul K. Kallon ’90; Northern District of Alabama

White House FellowsThomas Fisher ’96, 2010-2011

Members of Presidential Boards/Councils

Mark Brzezinski ’87; Member, J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Trustee John Donahoe ’82; Member, White House Council for Community SolutionsNita A. Farahany ’98; Member, Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical IssuesRichard L. Friedman ’63; Member, President’s Export CouncilBetsy Hildebrandt ’86; Member, Council on Women and Girls Trustee Jeffrey R. Immelt ’78; Head, Council on Jobs and Competitiveness Trustee Pamela Joyner ’79; Member, President’s Committee on the Arts and the Humanities

Steven Smith