The 2009 Aegis yearbook won the Best of Category Award, or “The Benny,” the highest honor at the 2010 Premier Print Awards. The sponsor of the awards, Printing Industries of America, recognized Dartmouth’s student-run yearbook “for the overall look of the publication based on the quality of photography, design expertise, printing and binding quality,” according to Elena Mustatea ’11, Aegis business manager. The Aegis also won The Benny in 2009 for its 2008 book.


The Premier Print Awards are among the oldest and largest worldwide graphic arts competitions. Michael Makin, president and CEO of Printing Industries of America, said in a press release, “The Benny winners represent the best our industry has to offer. This year’s entries were outstanding. There were entries from companies in 14 countries.”

Dartmouth is one of only three colleges to win The Benny for its yearbook twice in a row. The only other two schools are the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Pennsylvania State University. Proud of the achievement and aiming still higher, Aegis editor-in-chief Alyssa Eisenberg ’12 told The Dartmouth, “It’s really, really rare that it’s won back-to-back. It would be incredible if we could get it three times in a row.”

Nancy Fontaine