Geisel School of Medicine Names Members of the Academy of Faculty Master Educators


Read the full story at Geisel School of Medicine news.

The 16 inaugural members of the Geisel School of Medicine’s Academy of Faculty Master Educators were celebrated during Dean Wiley “Chip” Souba’s annual State of the Medical School address in June.


Geisel School of Medicine Dean Wiley “Chip” Souba and the inaugural members of the Academy of Faculty Master Educators. Front row, from left: Virginia Lyons, Ronald Taylor, Elmer Pfefferkorn, Roshini Pinto-Powell, Leslie Fall, James Bell, Catherine Pipas, Rich Rothstein. Second row, from left: Duane Compton, Harold Manning, Eugene Nattie, Joe O’Donnell, David Nierenberg. Back row, from left: Lee Witters, Chip Souba, H. Gilbert Welch, Worth Parker. (photo by Rob Bossi)

Members of this distinguished group were nominated by their fellow Geisel School of Medicine faculty because of their demonstrated commitment to excellence in teaching and medical education.

Academy members are leaders in medical education innovation at the Geisel School of Medicine, educating students and residents, advising Dean Souba and Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education Rich Simons, and raising the overall quality of education by mentoring faculty and residents in their quest to become better teachers.

“In the 215-year history of the medical school, one thing that has remained constant is the presence of outstanding educators,” said Souba. “These individuals represent the pinnacle of teaching excellence. They embody the very best of the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth and their peers recognize that.”

The inaugural members of the Academy of Faculty Master Educators are:

  • James Bell, associate professor of medicine
  • Duane Compton, senior associate dean of research, professor of biochemistry
  • Leslie Fall, professor of pediatrics
  • Virginia Lyons, associate professor of anatomy
  • Harold Manning, professor of medicine, physiology and neurobiology, and anesthesiology
  • Eugene Nattie, professor of physiology and neurobiology
  • David Nierenberg, professor of medicine and pharmacology and toxicology
  • Joseph O’Donnell, professor of medicine and psychiatry
  • Worth Parker, associate professor of medicine and of pediatrics
  • Elmer Pfefferkorn, emeritus professor of microbiology and immunology
  • Roshini Pinto-Powell, associate professor of medicine
  • Catherine Pipas, associate professor of community and family medicine
  • Richard Rothstein, professor of medicine and surgery, interim chair of medicine
  • Ronald Taylor, professor of microbiology and immunology
  • H. Gilbert Welch, professor of medicine, the Dartmouth Institute, and community and family medicine
  • Lee Witters, professor of medicine and biochemistry
Office of Communications