Medical Students Awarded AMA Foundation’s Physicians of Tomorrow Scholarships


Read the full story at Geisel School of Medicine news.

Two students from The Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth were selected for Physicians of Tomorrow awards by the American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation. Alexandra Coria, Geisel ’13, and Laura Ostapenko, Geisel ’13, are among just 18 rising fourth-year medical students across the nation who received the awards.

Laura Ostapenko, Geisel ’13, (left) and Alexandra Coria, Geisel ’13, were recognized by the American Medical Association for their academic accomplishments and service to the community. (courtesy of the Geisel School of Medicine)

Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine is the only medical school in the country to have two medical students selected for this honor.

Recipients were nominated by their medical schools and chosen based on academics, financial need, and community involvement. Each student will receive a $10,000 scholarship to defray medical school expenses. The AMA Foundation has awarded over $61 million in scholarships to deserving medical students since 1950.

“Alexandra and Laura are outstanding medical students and excellent examples of the physician leaders we are training here at the Geisel School of Medicine,” says Wiley “Chip” Souba, dean of the Geisel School of Medicine. “It’s inspiring to see their hard work, academic success, and dedication to improving lives recognized.”

Office of Communications