Kudos recognizes Dartmouth faculty and staff who have received an award or honor.

Professor of Music Steve Swayne. (photo by Joseph Mehling ’69)

Steve Swayne, a professor of music, is the winner of the American Society of Composer, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) Nicolas Slonimsky Award for Outstanding Musical Biography. The award recognizes Swayne for his book Orpheus in Manhattan: William Schuman and the Shaping of America’s Musical Life (Oxford University Press). Swayne will receive his award at the 44th Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards on November 14 in New York.

Thomas Jack, associate professor of biological sciences, was selected as one of the 40 Vision and Change Leadership Fellows for the Partnership for Undergraduate Life Sciences Education (PULSE) program. PULSE is a joint initiative of the National Science Foundation, the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and the National Institutes of Health. During a yearlong program, the Vision and Change Leadership Fellows will consider and make recommendations for improving undergraduate education in the life sciences.

George Wolford, professor of psychological and brain sciences and the Lincoln Filene Professor (emeritus) of Psychological and Brain Sciences, was awarded the 2012 Ig Nobel Prize in neuroscience for “demonstrating that brain researchers, by using complicated instruments and simple statistics, can see meaningful brain activity anywhere, even in a dead salmon.” Wolford, co-author of the study “Neural Correlates of Interspecies Perspective Taking in the Post-Mortem Atlantic Salmon: An Argument For Multiple Comparisons Correction,” received the award along with Craig Bennett, A&S Adv ’08, Abigail Baird (former assistant professor of psychological and brain sciences at Dartmouth), and Michael Miller.

According to the website Improbable Research, “The Ig Nobel Prizes honor achievements that first make people laugh, and then make them think. The prizes are intended to celebrate the unusual, honor the imaginative—and spur people’s interest in science, medicine, and technology.”

David Goodman, a professor of pediatrics and community and family medicine at the Geisel School of Medicine and the director of the Center for Health Policy Research at The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice, was elected chair of the Council on Graduate Medical Education (COGME). COGME advises the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, and the House of Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce.

Robert B. Donin, General Counsel of Dartmouth College, was elected a Member-at-Large on the Board of Directors of the National Association of College and University Attorneys. He will serve a three-year term.

The Office of Environmental Health & Safety is part of a partnership that launched the website The website offers free safety training courses for scientists.

Did you or a colleague recently receive an award or honor? Please tell us about it:

Office of Communications