Nine Dartmouth Students Named Schweitzer Fellows


Read the full story published by the Geisel School of Medicine and Thayer School of Engineering.

Eight Geisel School of Medicine students and one student from Thayer School of Engineering were named 2013-2014 New Hampshire-Vermont Schweitzer Fellows by the Albert Schweitzer Fellowship, named for the famous physician-humanitarian.

The fellowship is named for the physician-humanitarian Albert Schweitzer. (Photo courtesy of The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship)

Dartmouth’s fellows will join the approximately 220 Schweitzer Fellows across the nation to partner with local community-based organizations to build yearlong, mentored service projects to improve the health of underserved populations.

This year’s Schweitzer Fellows from the Geisel School of Medicine are Ilda Bajraktari, Christine Breuer, Erik Andrews, Laurie Delatour, Christiaan Rees, Leonard Hills, Muhammad Zain-ul-Abideen, and Charis Ripley-Hager.

The Schweitzer Fellow from Thayer School is Kelly Michaelsen, an engineering PhD candidate.

Upon completion of their Fellowship year, the students will become Schweitzer Fellows for Life—and join a network of nearly 2,700 individuals who are skilled in, and committed to, addressing the health needs of underserved people.

Office of Communications