International Prize Awarded to Dartmouth Students, Alumni


Five Dartmouth students and recent graduates were selected as highly commended in the 2013 Undergraduate Awards, sponsored by the Government of Ireland.

Literature major Grace Afsari-Mamagani ’13; psychology major Troy Dildine ’13; history major Jacqueline Donohoe ’13; media and the arts major Tausif Noor ’14; and literature major Laura Bryn Sisson ’13 were the recipients of the international prize. The highly commended prize is given to the top 10 percent of students who apply for the award.

The Undergraduate Awards

The Undergraduate Awards are sponsored by the Government of Ireland. (Courtesy of the Undergraduate Awards)

The Undergraduate Awards is an international program for all disciplines. The program “aims to celebrate and support the world’s brightest and most innovative undergraduate students by recognizing their best coursework and projects,” according to the program’s website. Students submit work they have completed as an undergraduate and are judged on their “innovative approach to their subject area.”

The Undergraduate Awards three-day summit in Dublin took place this month.

History major Donohoe thinks her close relationships helped her receive this honor.

“I found the relationships I developed with my professors and classmates the most rewarding part of my experience on campus. I was fortunate to have had the opportunity to foster academic relationships with professors outside of the classroom,” she says. “Professors at Dartmouth put so much time on their calendars for undergraduate students.”

Submissions for the 2014 Undergraduate Awards are due in June 2014; for more information visit the Undergraduate Awards website.

Office of Communications