Kudos: Highlighting Dartmouth Achievements


Kudos recognizes Dartmouth faculty, staff, and students who have received awards or other honors.

Dartmouth College was designated a “Gold-Level Fit Friendly Worksite” by the American Heart Association. The College was recognized for offering employees physical activity support, increasing healthy eating options, and for promoting a wellness culture.

Cindy Rybczyk, director of the New Hampshire Heart Walk (center), presents the American Heart Association’s Gold Level Fit Friendly Worksite award to, from left, Presidential Fellow Nirali Patel ’13, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Rick Mills, Wellness at Dartmouth Director Melissa Miner, and Wellness at Dartmouth Manager Courtney Rotchford. (Photo by Corinne Arndt Girouard)

Ada Cohen, a professor of art history and the Israel Evans Professor in Oratory and Belles Lettres, received a fellowship award from the National Endowment for the Humanities for her work on “The Idea of Female Beauty in the Ancient Greek World.”

Jamie Coughlin was appointed by New Hampshire Gov. Maggie Hassan to the state Economic Development Advisory Council. Coughlin is the director of both the New Venture Incubator Programs and the Dartmouth Regional Technology Center, all of which is organized under the newly established Office of Entrepreneurship and Technology Transfer. “I am honored by the opportunity to further serve New Hampshire. I look forward to sharing my perspective around new ventures in an effort to further organize and energize the state around a more entrepreneurial and innovative economy,” says Coughlin, who is also the president of the New Hampshire Business Incubator Network and trustee of the New Hampshire High-Technology Council.

Ernest Hebert, a professor of English, will receive the New Hampshire Writers’ Project Lifetime Achievement Award during the organization’s Literary Awards Ceremony on March 22.

David Kotz, the Champion International Professor in the Department of Computer Science and the associate dean for the sciences, was named to the U.S. Government Accountability Office’s Health Information Technology Policy Committee. Kotz will serve as an expert in privacy and security.

Francis Magilligan, a professor of geography, was named a Fellow in the Geological Society of America (GSA) in recognition of his “distinguished contributions to the geosciences.” On its website, the GSA notes: “Magilligan merits Fellow status based on geologic and applied research. He has (co)authored 52 peer-reviewed publications that span basic and applied fluvial geomorphology, with a focus on flood hydrology, watershed response to climate change, human impacts on watersheds, river restoration, and sediment dynamics.”

Did you or a colleague recently receive an award or honor? Please tell us about it: dartmouth.now@dartmouth.edu

Office of Communications