Hanlon Announces Presidential Steering Committee Members


Dartmouth President Phil Hanlon ’77 today announced the membership of the Presidential Steering Committee for Moving Dartmouth Forward. The Steering Committee is tasked with making recommendations that will combat the root causes of extreme behavior in the critical areas of sexual assault and high-risk drinking, and will also seek to foster more inclusivity on campus.

(Photo by Joseph Mehling ’69)

The Committee members are:

  • Barbara Will, professor of English, Chair of the Committee
  • Craig Sutton, associate professor of mathematics
  • Ryan Hickox, assistant professor of physics and astronomy
  • Deborah Tyson, senior assistant dean, Student Academic Support Services
  • Drew Galbraith, senior associate athletics director for Peak Performance
  • Frank M. Cunningham III ’16
  • John Damianos ’16
  • Kayla Wade ’16
  • Kelsey Weimer ’16
  • Susan Finegan ’85, president, Association of Alumni
  • John Osborn ‘ 88
“I thank the members of this Committee for agreeing to serve and for their readiness to engage the entire Dartmouth community in a discussion about social norms, to assess the viability of suggestions for a better way forward, and to propose concrete next steps for Dartmouth to advance solutions that address these critical issues, ” says President Hanlon. “The Committee represents the outstanding depth and breadth of the College community and reflects the deep commitment we all share to make Dartmouth the very best it can be.”
Join the Conversation

The Committee is seeking comments from members of the Dartmouth community through the Improve Dartmouth and Moving Dartmouth Forward websites.

On April 16, Hanlon convened a presidential summit that he called  “the first of what will be many conversations over the next several months as we generate ideas and evaluate steps that will bring a student experience to our College that is every bit the equal of the preeminent undergraduate education we offer.” At the summit, Hanlon noted that the Steering Committee would be “gathering the best solutions to help us achieve a more fundamental level of reform that reaches every place on our campus where social activities occur.” 

Next Steps 

Phase 1: Engagement, May 5–June 30

Through small group discussions and forums on and off campus, the Committee will engage the community and ask for suggestions on how to end extreme and harmful behaviors on campus. The Committee will also be seeking comments through the Improve Dartmouth and Moving Dartmouth Forward websites. 

Phase 2: Feasibility, July 1–August 31

The top ideas generated during the engagement period will be evaluated and assessed through feasibility studies and expert consultation.

Phase 3: Re-engagement, September

The Committee will publicly announce the top ideas developed during the engagement period that were successfully tested during the feasibility period and recognized as having genuine promise for implementation and impact. The community will have an opportunity to provide feedback on the ideas.

Phase 4: Presentation of Recommendations, October

The Committee will deliver the report and recommendations to Hanlon and his senior leadership team.

Phase 5: Board Submission, November 7–8

Hanlon and his senior leadership team will present recommendations to the Board of Trustees at its November meeting and request an endorsement of the proposed plan of action.

Phase 6: Implementation, November 9 and beyond

Communication and implementation of the final plan begins.

Throughout the process, the Committee will seek advice and the counsel of members of the Dartmouth Community—students, faculty, staff, alumni, and parents. The Committee will also provide regular progress reports to senior leadership.

For more information on Hanlon’s call to action, visit Moving Dartmouth Forward, where community members are encouraged to submit ideas and help shape Dartmouth’s future.

Office of Communications