Search Has Begun for Undergraduate Admissions Leader


The search for a new leader of the College’s undergraduate admissions, financial aid, and enrollment operation has begun, Provost Carolyn Dever announced today.

Dartmouth Hall Fall 2015

(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)

The position became vacant when Maria Laskaris ’84 left the dean of admission and financial aid post in August to work as special assistant to the provost for arts and innovation. Paul Sunde, director of admissions, is serving as interim dean of admissions and financial aid.

The next person to hold the job will have the title of vice provost for enrollment management.

Read more:

Maria Laskaris ’84 to Join Work on Arts and Innovation District

Inside Higher Ed: An Admissions Revolution

Office of Undergraduate Admissions

“This represents not an increase in administrative roles but rather a sea change in the higher-ed admissions profession, allowing us to use a wealth of newly available data to identify and recruit prospective students,” Dever wrote today in an email to the faculties of Arts and Sciences and Thayer School of Engineering and to College staff.

“This approach will open pathways within every aspect of Dartmouth’s admissions operation, including recruitment practices, communications, financial aid distribution, and the tracking of outcomes as students move through our curriculum and beyond,” wrote Dever.

The executive search firm Witt/Kieffer is working with the College on the search. Dever anticipates filling the new position by July 2016.

College community members are invited to share suggestions, offer nominations, and ask questions about the search via email. Dean of the College Rebecca Biron will chair the search committee.

The search members are Trustee Caroline Kerr ’05; Vice Provost for Student Affairs Inge-Lise Ameer; Associate Provost for Institutional Research Alicia Betsinger; Registrar Meredith Braz; Associate Professor Solomon Diamond, chair of the Faculty Committee on Admissions and Financial Aid; Chief Operating Officer Ann Root Keith; Director of Financial Aid Dino Koff; Director of Athletics Harry Sheehy; Associate Professor of Math Craig Sutton; and Vice President for Finance Mike Wagner.

Office of Communications