Details of the New House Communities

News subtitle

Photos show the buildings and faculty at the center of a new model of residential life.

West House community
An overhead view shows the house community West House, including Fahey, McLane, Butterfield, and Russell Sage halls. (Photo by Eli Burakian ’00) 

Editor’s note: Associate Professor Ryan Calsbeek stepped down from his role as house professor for North Park in September. Dean of the College Rebecca Biron will serve as the North Park professor.

Starting in the fall of 2016, all Dartmouth undergraduates will be assigned to one of six new house communities, each of which will have an associated faculty member. Below are photos of each of the communities and details about the associated buildings and professors.

Read more about the housing communities.

Image removed.

Allen House

Buildings: Gile, Streeter, and Lord halls.

House professor: Jane Hill, an associate professor of engineering, will live in a residence being built on Allen Street.


Image removed.

East Wheelock House

Buildings: Andres, Zimmerman, McCulloch, and Morton halls.

House professor: Sergi Elizalde, an associate professor of mathematics, will continue to live on East Wheelock Street.


House Professor: Melanie Taylor

North Park House

Buildings: Ripley, Woodward, and Smith halls.

House professor: Melanie Taylor, chair and associate professor of Native American Studies, will serve as house professor for North Park House.


Image removed.

School House

Buildings: Massachusetts Row and Hitchcock halls.

House professor: Craig Sutton, an associate professor of mathematics, will live in a new residence being built on School Street.


Image removed.

South House

Buildings: Topliff, New Hampshire, and the Lodge.

House professor: Kathryn Lively, a professor of sociology, will live on Sanborn Street.


Image removed.

West House

Buildings: Fahey, McLane, Butterfield, and Russell Sage halls.

House professor: Ryan Hickox, an assistant professor of physics and astronomy, will live in a residence being built on Webster Avenue.


Image removed.

Living Learning Communities

Buildings: McLaughlin Cluster.

House professor: Dennis Washburn, the Jane and Raphael Bernstein Professor in Asian Studies, will live on Clement Road and will lead the living learning communities based in the McLaughlin Cluster and work closely with the eight academic affinity communities located in other buildings, such as the Chinese Language House, Sustainable Living Center, and LALACs House. All students in the living learning communities, which include the affinity communities, will also be assigned to one of the six house communities.

Office of Communications