Planning Begins for College’s 250th Celebration

News subtitle

Organizing a huge birthday party takes time. That’s why the College has begun planning the celebration of its 250th year—four years in advance of the party.

planning the celebration of its 250th year

Two committees have been named to begin work on Dartmouth’s sestercentennial, which will take place in 2019, and ideas are being sought from the College community.

A steering committee composed of senior leaders will review plans for the celebration and a planning committee has begun collecting ideas for events, exhibitions, academic initiatives, and other proposals to send to steering committee members.

Read More

Cellist Yo-Yo Ma Launches Hopkins Center’s 50th Anniversary Season

Celebrating 40 Years of Remarkable Achievements

Students Celebrate 100th Anniversary of Winter Carnival

Rugby Football Celebrates 60th Anniversary 

“We plan to provide plentiful occasions for the entire Dartmouth fellowship to exalt and extol the very best of what we are and have done in our first 250 years and resoundingly acclaim what Dartmouth aspires yet to become,” says Planning Committee Co-Chair Donald Pease, the Geisel Third Century Professor in the Humanities and a professor of English.   

Pease is leading the planning group with Martha Johnson Beattie ’76, vice president for Alumni Relations.

“We are excited about beginning this important work,” Beattie says. “This milestone reflects the excellence of our last 250 years and promises that the best is still ahead of us.”

Members of the steering committee are President Phil Hanlon ’77, Provost Carolyn Dever, Senior Vice President for Advancement Bob Lasher ’88, Vice President for Communications Justin Anderson, and Trustee Laurel Ritchie ’81.

Plans for the sestercentennial will be informed by values that are central to the College’s mission—a vital engagement with the liberal arts, a profound sense of place, enduring fellowship, and an adventuresome spirit.

Community members wishing to suggest ideas for the celebration should email

Working with Beattie and Pease on the planning committee are Juliette Bianco, interim director of the Hood Museum of Art; Susan Boutwell, director of editorial services in the Office of Communications; Nariah Broadus, director of strategic initiatives in the Office of the Provost; Sara Campbell, assistant director of Conferences and Events; Peter Carini, Dartmouth’s archivist; Andrew Davidson, vice president for Development; Margaret Funnell, assistant dean of faculty for undergraduate research; Marcia Kelly, secretary to the board of trustees; E.J. Kiefer, executive director of Conferences and Events; Susan Lee, director of Web Services; Marga  Rahmann, associate director of the Hopkins Center for the Arts; George Rodriguez, assistant athletic director for external relations; Leslie Rowley ’96, associate director for alumni education at Princeton University; Yolanda Sanchez, associate professor of pharmacology and toxicology; Mimi Simpson, Tuck ’89, executive director of the Office of the President; and Lisa Thum, assistant dean of the College.

Susan J. Boutwell