Dartmouth Inducts 17 Into Wearers of the Green

News subtitle

The group honors students, alumni, and coaches for their athletic excellence.

2016 Wearers of the Green with Vice President for Alumni Relations Martha Beattie
The 2016 Wearers of the Green pose for a photo with Vice President for Alumni Relations Martha Beattie ’76, far left, President Phil Hanlon ’77, second from right in second row, and Director of Athletics and Recreation Harry Sheehy, far right. The new members are, from left in front row: Charles Bay ’11, Bill Swenson ’79, Virginia Peisch ’11, Harry Norton ’08, Brittney Smith ’11, and Nick Santomauro ’10. From left in the back row are Beattie, John Lundgren ’73, Molly Scott ’11, Ace Tarberry ’11, Becca Dellenbaugh ’10, Alex Stein ’06, Kat Collins ’11, Ari Sussman ’10, President Hanlon, and

Read the full story, published by Dartmouth Athletics.

Dartmouth and the Department of Athletics and Recreation inducted 17 new members into the Wearers of the Green in a ceremony after the homecoming football game on Saturday evening. More than 100 people gathered at the Top of the Hop to honor the induction class, including President Phil Hanlon ’77 and Athletics Director Harry Sheehy ’55a.

“At Dartmouth and beyond, you have showcased your talents, demonstrated your commitment to the pursuit of excellence and served as a source of pride for the entire Dartmouth community,” said President Hanlon to the gathering. “And as we honor you today, we remember just how much athletics enriches the Dartmouth experience, both for student-athletes like you, and for passionate fans like Gail and me.

“For 30 years, the Wearers of the Green have exemplified Dartmouth’s commitment to excellence, and we thank all of you, our 2016 inductees, for continuing that tradition. You embody Dartmouth’s ideals, in sport and in life, and we are proud to call you Wearers of the Green.”

The group Wearers of the Green was created in 1984 to honor students, alumni, and coaches who have met specific criteria for athletic excellence in their respective sports. Previously, a ceremony was held in Boston every five years to induct new members. But since 2014, new members have been inducted on an annual basis during homecoming weekend in Hanover.

Office of Communications