Four Dartmouth Faculty Named AAAS Fellows


HANOVER, N.H. – Nov. 21, 2016 – Four Dartmouth faculty members have been selected as 2016 Fellows by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society and the publisher of the journal Science. Professors Nathaniel J. Dominy; Eugene Santos, Jr.; Surachai Supattapone; and Ross A. Virginia are among the 391 new Fellows recognized by AAAS this year for their distinguished efforts to advance science.

Election as a AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. Each of the AAAS Fellows were named to a section and elected for his or her citation. Below are more details about the new AAAS Fellows from Dartmouth:

Title and Affiliation at DartmouthAAAS Section NameCitation

Section on Anthropology

For distinguished studies in ecology and functional morphology of humans and nonhuman primates, as well as the integration of fieldwork with mechanical, molecular and isotopic analyses to understand adaptive shifts in primate evolution.

Section on Information, Computing and Communication

For distinguished contributions to the field of information and decision sciences, particularly for computational modeling of decision-making under uncertainty with application to human behavior modeling.

Section on Biological Sciences

For distinguished contributions to the field of protein misfolding, particularly defining the chemical composition and structure of infectious mammalian prions.

  • Ross A. Virginia - Director, Institute of Arctic Studies; Myers Family Professor of Environmental Science; Professor of Environmental Studies; Adjunct Professor of Biological Sciences and Earth Sciences

Section on Biological Sciences

For seminal contributions to the understanding of the biogeochemistry and biodiversity of polar and desert soils and ecosystems.

For a list of additional Dartmouth faculty (active and emeriti) who are AAAS Fellows, please refer to the following Dartmouth News article.

New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 18, from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2017 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

This year’s AAAS Fellows will be formally announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Nov. 25, 2016.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Fellows must have been continuous members of AAAS for four years by the end of the calendar year in which they are elected.

Each steering group reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS president, and consisting of the members of the board of directors, the retiring section chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

About Dartmouth
Founded in 1769, Dartmouth is a member of the Ivy League and offers the world’s premier liberal arts
education, combining its deep commitment to outstanding undergraduate and graduate teaching with distinguished research and scholarship in the arts and sciences and its three leading professional schools: the Geisel School of Medicine, Thayer School of Engineering and Tuck School of Business.

Dartmouth has TV and radio studios available for interviews. For more information, visit:Broadcast Studios

About the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general
scientific society and publisher of the journal Science ( as well as Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, a digital, open-access journal, Science Advances, Science Immunology, and Science Robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy,
international programs, science education, public engagement, and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert! (, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS. See