Dartmouth to Hold 26th Annual Wetterhahn Science Symposium

News subtitle

The symposium will be held May 24 at the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center.

students riding bikes outside the Life Sciences center
(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)
Image removed.Yale engineering professor T. Kyle Vanderlick will be the keynote speaker for the Wetterhahn Science Symposium. (Photo by Michael Marsland, Yale University)

The 26th Annual Karen E. Wetterhahn Science Symposium will open on May 24 with a keynote address by T. Kyle Vanderlick, dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science and the Thomas E. Golden Jr. Professor of Engineering at Yale University.

Vanderlick is a leading expert on interactions that occur near or between surfaces, doing research on the properties of interfaces and thin films.

“Some of the membrane-based structures we are able to create in the laboratory have potential future applications as drug delivery agents,” she says. “Others might eventually be used in in-vitro fertilization to help prevent diseases, and still others might be used in environmental based applications such as soil remediation.”

Vanderlick’s presentation will begin at 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 24, in the Oopik Auditorium at the Class of 1978 Life Sciences Center.

The keynote address will be followed by an Undergraduate Poster Session from 5 to 6:30 p.m. Dartmouth undergraduates who are conducting scientific research will present their work and entertain feedback from the scientific community. 

Students presenting senior honors thesis research will be participating in the Christopher G. Reed Science Competition, sponsored by Sigma Xi (a scientific research society). Poster session entrants may also compete in the Library Research Award for the Sciences, sponsored by Dartmouth College Library and the Friends of the Dartmouth College Library.

The winners of the competition are announced at the symposium. A certificate recognizing the award winners, along with their posters, will be displayed in Kresge Physical Sciences Library. The winners also receive cash awards.

Named in honor of the late Karen E. Wetterhahn, a professor of chemistry and co-founder of the Women In Science Project (WISP) at Dartmouth, the event is free and open to the public.

Partners for the 2017 Symposium include:


Joseph Blumberg