Osher Summer Series Focuses on Critical Thinking and Democracy

News subtitle

Legal experts tackle issues ranging from freedom of speech to gun rights.

Students walking across the Green
(Photo by Jeff Woodward)

Announcing the 2019 summer lecture series, “Critical Thinking for the Preservation of Our Democracy,” the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at Dartmouth says, “Recently, there has been a sharp decline in critical thinking—listening thoughtfully and objectively evaluating different points on an issue.”

Over the next six weeks, on Thursdays from 9 to 11:30 a.m., in Spaulding Auditorium, 18 speakers will demonstrate critical thinking in action, debating the following topics. (The first one, on freedom of speech, with speakers Owen Fiss, a professor of law, Yale Law School, and Akhil Reed Amar, a professor of law at Yale College and Yale Law School and moderator David Bisno, MALS ’94, a constitutional law scholar, took place today.)

  • July 18—Gun Rights. Speakers: Joseph Blocher, professor of law, Duke University School of Law, and Erin Murphy, partner and litigator, Kirkland & Ellis. Moderator: John Garvey, professor, University of New Hampshire Franklin Pierce School of Law
  • July 25—Affirmative Action. Speakers: Neal Katyal ’91, former U.S. Acting Solicitor General, partner, Hogan Lovells, and professor of law, Georgetown University; and Adam Mortara, partner, Bartlit Beck, and lecturer, University of Chicago Law School. Moderator: Daniel Benjamin, director, John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding
  • Aug. 1—Freedom of the Press. Speakers: RonNell Anderson Jones, professor of law, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College School of Law, and Andrew Phillips, partner and litigator, Clare Locke. Moderator: Richard Tofel, president of ProPublica, a nonprofit investigative journalism organization
  • Aug. 8—Individual Privacy. Speakers: Jennifer Daskal, professor of law, American University Washington College of Law, and Neil Richards, professor of law, Washington University School of Law. Moderator: Peter Teachout, professor of law, Vermont Law School
  • Aug. 15—Voting Rights. Speakers: Debo Adegbile, partner, WilmerHale law firm, and Bradley Smith, professor of law, Capital University Law School. Moderator: John Greabe ’85, professor of law, University of New Hampshire Franklin Pierce School of Law

Admission is free for Dartmouth students, staff, and faculty who present a College ID at the door. Find more information about tickets, the series, and videos of past summer programs, at the Osher@Dartmouth website.

Charlotte Albright can be reached at charlotte.e.albright@dartmouth.edu.

Charlotte Albright