President Hanlon, Senior Leaders to Host Lunchtime Chats

News subtitle

Students are invited to the Class of 1953 Commons for “ask-me-anything” get-togethers.

Students eating in the dining hall
In a lunchtime series that starts next week, students are invited to stop by during lunch to talk with President Philip J. Hanlon ’77 and other College leaders. (Photo by Robert Gill)

President Philip J. Hanlon ’77 and senior leaders are holding a series of informal gatherings beginning next week in the Class of 1953 Commons dining hall, and students are invited to drop by for lunch and conversation.

At the fall-term events, dubbed “FoCo AMA With President Hanlon and Senior Leaders”—short for “food court” and social media-inspired “ask-me-anything” Q&A sessions—students are invited to share questions or comments about life at Dartmouth. All are welcome and no appointment is necessary.

“I’m looking forward to these lunches as another way to get to know the members of our new Class of ’23 and catch up with returning students over lunch,” President Hanlon says.

Here’s the schedule of sessions, with leadership team guests:

• Sept. 24, 12:30 p.m.: Elizabeth Smith, dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences. The dean of the faculty has responsibility over all matters pertaining to the Faculty of Arts and Sciences, including the undergraduate curriculum.

•  Oct. 2, noon: Kathryn Lively, dean of the College. The dean of the College provides direction on student inclusivity and diversity issues, strategic planning for admissions and financial aid, and oversight of student affairs, which includes student academic support services; residential life and the house communities; student life departments; offices and centers that support students’ cultural, spiritual, and professional development; the health service; and community standards offices.

• Oct. 7, 12:30 p.m.: Justin Anderson, vice president for communications. Anderson oversees the Office of Communications and manages strategic institutional communications for the College. In addition, he works with communications leaders in the graduate schools and in divisions across Dartmouth.

• Oct. 10, 12:30 p.m.: Rick Mills, executive vice president. Mills is Dartmouth’s chief administrative, business, and operating officer, overseeing all aspects of financial, administrative, human resources, campus services, investment, and information technology functions.

•  Oct. 16, noon, Harry Sheehy, director of athletics and recreation. Sheehy oversees 35 Division I varsity sports—17 women’s, 16 men’s, and two coed—as well as 35 club sports and an extensive intramural program. At Dartmouth, three-fourths of undergraduates participate in organized sports.

• Oct. 23, noon: Laura Hercod, a senior administrator in the Office of the President. Hercod is President Hanlon’s chief of staff and secretary to the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees.

• Oct. 31, 12:30 p.m., Joseph Helble, provost. The provost is Dartmouth’s chief academic officer and chief budget officer, responsible for overseeing the overall academic integrity of the entire institution and for those operations transcending the work of a single faculty. Dartmouth’s graduate schools, major academic support units, and several other offices, academic centers, and institutes report to the provost.

• Nov. 5, noon: Alexis Abramson, dean of Thayer School of Engineering. A mechanical engineer and a leader in sustainable energy technology, Abramson oversees all aspects of the engineering school, including the courses taken by undergraduates.

For more information, please email



Bill Platt