Advisory Committee Named to Search for Next Provost

News subtitle

After Joseph Helble’s departure, Professor David Kotz ’86 will serve as interim provost.

Spring aerial of campus
Photo by Robert Gill

An advisory search committee has been named to begin a national search for Dartmouth’s next provost.

Joseph Helble will become president of Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pa., on Aug. 16. David Kotz ’86, the Pat and John Rosenwald Professor in computer science, was last month named to serve as interim provost.

Russell Muirhead, the Robert Clements Professor of Democracy and Politics and chair of the Department of Government, will chair the committee.

“I am grateful my colleagues so generously agreed to serve with me on this committee,” says Muirhead. We have some hard work to do. Replacing Joe won’t be easy. But with this group, I think the work will be fun,“ he says.

Working with Muirhead are committee members Lee Coffin, vice provost for enrollment and dean of admissions and financial aid; Shontay Delalue, incoming senior vice president/senior diversity officer; Odette Harris ’91, a member of Dartmouth’s Board of Trustees and professor of neurosurgery at Stanford; Connie Helfat, senior associate dean for research innovation at the Tuck School of Business; student Will Huang, Tuck ’22; Steven Leach, director of the Norris Cotton Cancer Center; Nina Pavcnik, the Niehaus Family Professor in International Studies and chair of the Department of Economics; student Anastasia Perez Ternent ’22; Laura Ray, senior associate dean at Thayer School of Engineering; Enrico Riley, the George Frederick Jewett Professor of Studio Art and chair of the Department of Studio Art; Peter Roby ’79, interim director of athletics; Mike Wagner, chief financial officer; and Xia Zhou, associate professor of computer science.

The committee, which began meeting late last month, will make recommendations to President Philip J. Hanlon’77, who will choose the next provost. Muirhead says the committee is hoping to produce a list of finalists for President Hanlon’s consideration by the end of fall term.

Office of Communications