Presidential Search Committee Chairs Named

News subtitle

Dartmouth Trustees Susan Huang ’84 and Christopher Lord ’86 will chair the committee.

Dartmouth Hall on the Dartmouth College campus

(Photo by Eli Burakian ’00)


Trustees Susan Huang ’84 and Christopher Lord ’86 will chair the Presidential Search Committee that will identify a successor to President Philip J. Hanlon ’77, who announced last week that he will step down at the end of the 2022-23 academic year.

Their appointment by Board Chair Elizabeth Cahill Lempres ’83, Thayer ’84, is the first step in a process that will culminate in the appointment of Dartmouth’s 19th president in the Wheelock Succession. Lempres says the search will be thoughtful and inclusive.

“Selecting a president to lead Dartmouth is among the most important duties the trustees have. All of us are grateful to Susie and Chris for agreeing to lead the search committee,” says Lempres. “They bring diverse experience and valuable perspective that will serve us well as we embark on this important process.”

Huang and Lord will chair a committee that Lempres says will include faculty, staff, undergraduate and graduate students, and alumni.

Susan Huang
Susan Huang ’84

“Chris and I are committed to selecting the right leader to build on Phil’s accomplishments, capitalize on Dartmouth’s strengths and advance our strategic goals,” says Huang. “Our focus from the outset will be on ensuring that the committee is representative of faculty, students, staff, and alumni so we can best identify the skills and capabilities we need in the next president.”

Huang and Lord will hold forums for students, faculty, and staff on Feb. 10, to hear input on the qualities and strengths the next president will need. Listening sessions for alumni will be scheduled shortly. The information will be used to help develop a presidential search statement that will lay out the opportunity, context, and competencies for prospective candidates.

Here are the links to participate in the sessions:

Christopher Lord
Christopher Lord ’86

“As committee chairs, Susie and I want to be sure the committee can identify our next president from as diverse and qualified a field of candidates as possible, with the experience, insight, and vision to take Dartmouth forward,” Lord says. “That is why we are both so determined to ensure that key constituencies have a voice in the process.”

Huang earned her undergraduate degree in history from Dartmouth and a JD and MBA from Columbia University. She is a member of the Advancement and Resources committees of the board of trustees, which she joined in 2020, and serves as the trustee representative to the Board of Visitors of the John Sloan Dickey Center for International Understanding. She also is a member of the Campaign Executive Committee of The Call to Lead and the Centennial Circle Committee, and previously served on the President’s Leadership Council. Huang is a Vice Chairman and Global Co-Head of Investment Banking at Morgan Stanley, where she is a member of the Operating and Management Committees. She also serves on the Board of Directors of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

Lord graduated from Dartmouth with his bachelor’s degree in religious studies and has an MBA from Harvard Business School. He serves as chair of the Investment Committee and is a member of the Resources and Student Experience committees of the board of trustees, which he joined in 2018. He is also a member of the Campaign Executive Committee of The Call to Lead. Lord is the Chief Investment Officer at New Paradigm Capital, a family office that combines exceptional investment returns with social impact. Prior to his role at New Paradigm, he founded and was Managing Partner at Criterion Capital Management, an institutional investment management firm focused on the technology sector.

Send your input to the Presidential Search Committee at

Office of Communications