Kudos: Garcia Named to Smithsonian Advisory Committee

News subtitle

Dartmouth faculty and students are recognized for their achievements.

Kudos Animated Microphone

Kudos is an occasional column that recognizes Dartmouth faculty, students, and staff who have received awards or other honors. Did you or a colleague recently receive an award or honor? Please tell us about it: dartmouth.news@dartmouth.edu.


Matthew Garcia, the Ralph and Richard Lazarus Professor of History, Latin American, Latino, and Caribbean Studies, and Human Relations, has been named one of the 18 members of the Scholarly Advisory Committee to the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Latino. As a committee member, Garcia will provide input on the museum’s comprehensive plan to preserve, document, display/interpret and promote knowledge of U.S. Latino history, art, and culture. He will also review the museum’s exhibitions and long-distance learning and digital-engagement initiatives.


Nishi Jain ’21 and David Yin ’22 presented a paper on “Personal Protective Equipment and Health Policy” at the annual meeting of the Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Society in New Orleans on Feb. 3. Jain and Yin began their research on the topic two years ago with support from an independent research fellowship through the Political Economy Project. “They parleyed their work together into a very nice research report at a respected scholarly conference,” writes Henry Clark, senior lecturer and program director of the Political Economy Project.


The Guthman Musical Instrument Competition, which is run by the Georgia Tech School of Music, this month bestowed a “Judge’s Special Award” on Cicada, an acoustic synthesizer which converts voltage to vibrations in a mechanical oscillator. The instrument was developed at Dartmouth by Spencer Topel, a music professor at the time, and commercialized last year. Co-inventor Herbert H. C. Chang ’18 is a research associate in the Fu Lab. Dartmouth holds a patent for the technology underlying the instrument.

Written by
Office of Communications