Geisel Professor Receives Technology Innovation Award

News subtitle

Randolph Noelle was honored at the Magnuson Center’s spring Entrepreneurs Forum.

Geisel professor emeritus Randolph Noelle
Biotechnology entrepreneur Randolph Noelle, a professor emeritus of microbiology and immunology, has received the Dartmouth Technology Innovation and Commercialization Award. He is shown here in 2016. (Photo by Jon Gilbert Fox)

Randolph Noelle, a biotechnology entrepreneur and professor emeritus of microbiology and immunology, has received the Dartmouth Technology Innovation and Commercialization Award.

Presented by the Office of Entrepreneurship and Technology Transfer, the award recognizes individuals who through their inventive and entrepreneurial talents have made valuable contributions to Dartmouth and society.

Noelle received the award during the Magnuson Center for Entrepreneurship’s Dartmouth Entrepreneurs Forum on May 5. The semiannual program takes place in the spring in Hanover and in the fall in San Francisco.

A cellular and molecular immunologist, Noelle is the co-founder and vice chair of ImmuNext, which develops novel immunotherapies for autoimmune disease and cancer. He and his lab have made numerous discoveries that have implications for the treatment of these diseases, and the intellectual property he has created has been licensed to biotech companies by Dartmouth Technology Transfer. His laboratory discovered the natural CD40 ligand, CD154, and the checkpoint regulator, VISTA (V-domain immunoglobulin suppressor of T cell activation).

During a dinner connected with the Entrepreneurs Forum, Eric Fossum, vice provost for entrepreneurship and technology transfer, lauded Noelle as an innovator who is dedicated to improving human health.

“Randy’s longstanding efforts as a scientist and entrepreneur made his selection as our award recipient an easy choice,” Fossum said.

The daylong forum attracted more than 400 registrants and included 50 alumni contributors.

Noelle called Dartmouth and the Geisel School of Medicine “a wonderful community” in which to explore and advance his interests as both a researcher and an innovator.

“I appreciate all the support over the years from friends and colleagues who have helped me build on my research to develop real world applications to improve human health,” he said.

Previous winners of the award include Laura Ray, the Myron Tribus Professor of Engineering Innovation and senior associate dean of faculty development at Thayer School of Engineering; the late Michael Sporn, professor of pharmacology and toxicology and of medicine; Tillman Gerngross, professor of engineering; Joseph BelBruno, professor emeritus of chemistry; Charles Hutchinson dean emeritus of Thayer; and the late Stuart Trembly, Thayer ’83, an engineering professor at Thayer.

Office of Communications