Vox the Vote Balloting Opens March 9


Beginning March 9, Dartmouth alumni can cast ballots for two alumni-nominated trustees of the College. A total of 11 members of the Association of Alumni Executive Committee will be chosen during the same all-media voting period, which closes April 6.

The Dartmouth Alumni Council has nominated one candidate for each of two open alumni-nominated trustee seats on the Dartmouth College Board of Trustees. The 2011 nominees are Gail Koziara Boudreaux ’82 and Bill Burgess ’81.


Gail Koziara Boudreaux ’82. (photo courtesy of Gail Boudreaux)

Gail Koziara Boudreaux ’82 is executive vice president of UnitedHealth Group and president of UnitedHealthcare. She was named one of The World’s 100 Most Powerful Women by Forbes and one of Fortune’s 50 Most Powerful Women in American Business. She has served Dartmouth as an admissions interviewer, class agent, and Alumni Council representative. As an undergraduate, she played basketball, ran track and field and cross country, and was a member of Green Key and Fire and Skoal. An All-American in basketball and track, Boudreaux holds 12 Dartmouth athletic records and is a member of the Wearers of the Green. She has an MBA from Columbia University.


Bill Burgess ’81. (photo courtesy of Bill Burgess)

Bill Burgess ’81 is a managing partner of ABS Ventures, a venture capital firm. Throughout his career, he has worked closely with emerging growth technology companies as an investor and adviser, primarily at Alex. Brown & Sons and Deutsche Bank, where he held a number of management positions, including vice chairman of global corporate finance and head of DB Venture Partners. Burgess has served Dartmouth as class president, class agent, Alumni Council representative, and reunion giving chair. He was a member of Alpha Delta fraternity, Sphinx senior society, and Green Key. He also played rugby, football, and lacrosse. Burgess holds an MBA from Harvard Business School.

The 2011 Dartmouth Association of Alumni election is underway as well. The Association of Alumni Executive Committee’s nominating committee has announced its slate of candidates (see sidebar) for the 2011 Association of Alumni election. Election results will be announced at the Association of Alumni annual meeting in Hanover, at 11 a.m. on April 9, 2011. Learn more about both slates and the voting process at the Vox the Vote website or by contacting the Office of Alumni Relations at (603) 646-3929.

Nominees for  Association of Alumni Executive Committee Officers

President: John (J.B.) Daukas ’84 First Vice President: Gary L. Love ’76 Second Vice President: Peter A. Bleyler ’61 Secretary-Treasurer: Lynne Hamel Gaudet ’81 Executive Committee Members • Gersh Abraham ’58, Thayer ’59 • Mark Alperin ’80 • Belinda H. Y. Chiu ’98 • Jeff Crowe ’78 • Ann Fritz Hackett ’76 • Kiyoe Hashimoto ’95 • Kate Strayer-Benton ’05
Office of Communications