Inaugural Lone Pine Excellence Awards Recognize Staff

News subtitle

The Culbert Award, employees’ top honor, was also presented at a ceremony last month.

Audience clapping
Members of the audience at the Lone Pine Excellence Awards cheer for Jonathan Crossett, senior database administrator for ITC, as he accepts the Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award. (Photos by Robert Gill)

The winners of the Lone Pine Excellence Awards for 2018, including the Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award, the College’s highest staff honor, were celebrated April 3 at an event at Alumni Hall in the Hopkins Center for the Arts.

This is the inaugural year for the Office of Human Resources’ Lone Pine Employee Recognition program, which established five new service awards for individuals and teams exemplifying Dartmouth’s commitment to excellence in the following categories: collaboration; passion and commitment; innovation; leadership; and unsung hero. The program also serves as the new home for the Culbert Award, which was previously announced during the annual employee service awards.

The Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award

Jonathan Crossett receives Culbert Award
President Philip J. Hanlon ’77 presents the Sheila Culbert Distinguished Employee Award to Jonathan Crossett, senior database administrator for Information, Technology, and Consulting.

The Lone Pine Excellence awards were presented in five categories:

The Collaboration Award

Jennifer Bilbo and Jason Merwin receiving Collaboration Award
The collaboration award was presented to the theater department’s Costume Shop Manager Jennifer Bilbo and Technical Director Jason Merwin.

The Innovation Award

DELTA Summit planning team
The innovation award winners were members of the DELTA Summit planning team, which organized a professional development summit for experiential educators at the Moosilauke Ravine Lodge. They are, with President Hanlon, from left, Ashley Doolittle, Tracy Dustin-Eichler, Elli Goudzwaard, Casey Aldrich, Elaine Livingston, Susan Simon, Colleen Goodhue, Mike Goudzwaard, and Renata Baptista. Not pictured are Adam Nemeroff, Tracie Williams, and Cindy Cogswell. (Cogswell has since left the College.)

The Leadership Award

Tracy Dustin-Eichler and President Hanlon
The leadership award winner Tracey Dustin-Eichler, director of the Center for Social Impact, stands with President Hanlon after the presentation on April 3.

The Passion and Commitment Award

Joanne Needham stands with President Hanlon
Joanne Needham, program officer at the Nelson A. Rockefeller Center for Public Policy, stands with President Hanlon after receiving the award for passion and commitment.

The Unsung Hero Award

Kristin Miller receives the Unsung Hero Award.
Kristin Miller, program coordinator at the Arthur L. Irving Institute for Energy and Society, receives the unsung hero award.

William Platt can be reached at

Bill Platt